Quick Links

Useful Links

Prestbury St Marys

Meet the Governors

Prestbury St Mary’s Federation Governing Body

The Governing Body, made up of unpaid volunteers, is dedicated to developing the Federation of St Mary’s Infant and Prestbury St Mary’s Junior C of E Schools to provide the best possible education for all the pupils.

The members of the Governing Body are from a variety of backgrounds and actively oversee and contribute to the leadership of the Federation through the sometimes complex processes of strategic planning; challenging and supporting the Executive Headteacher and ensuring financial probity, whilst always representing the interests of the two schools and those within them.

The Governing body meets six times a year and, in order to help it in its work, has set up five committees, as follows:

  • Curriculum Committee
  • Vision and Ethos Committee
  • Pay and Personnel Committee
  • Finance and Premises Committee
  • Admissions Committee

The committees meet regularly through the year and report back to the Governing Body on their findings and decisions.


  • Neil Penny
  • Michael Brick
    Vice-Chair & Foundation Governor
  • Fr Nicholas Bromfield
    Foundation Governor
  • David Crompton
    Foundation Governor
  • Carol Gunn
    Foundation Governor
  • Emma Hammond
    Foundation Governor
  • Julia Martin-Jones
    Foundation Governor
  • Ruth Rudge
    Foundation Governor
  • John Payne
    Local Authority Governor
  • Jake Munn
    Staff Governor
  • Kate Butland
    Parent Governor
  • Fiona Hall
    Associate Member
  • Rosemary Dodd
    Associate Member
  • Rachel Beecham
    Associate Governor
  • Matt Fletcher
    Executive Head Teacher & Ex-officio
  • Ali Hopton
    Executive Deputy Head & Associate Member
  • Charlie Lunnon
    SENDCo & Co-opted Member

 Committees and Working Parties

Name Chair Committee Membership
Curriculum Committee Carol Gunn Matt Fletcher, Ali Hopton,  Neil Penny, Emma Hammond, Rachel Beecham 
Vision and Ethos Committee Kate Butland Matt Fletcher, Ali Hopton,  Emma Hammond, Michael Brick, Carol Gunn, Fr Nicholas Bromfield
Pay and Personnel Committee Emma Hammond Matt Fletcher, Ali Hopton, Neil Penny, Carol Gunn
Admissions Committee Fiona Hall Matt Fletcher, Fr Nicholas Bromfield, Neil Penny,  Caroline Sexton, Helen O'Connell
Safeguarding Monitoring Group Matt Fletcher, Ali Hopton,  Ruth Rudge, Charlie Lunnon
Finance and Premises Committee Michael Brick Matt Fletcher, Neil Penny, Helen O'Connell, Rachael Gasher, Kerry Timbrell

The Executive Head Teacher and Chair of Governors are ex-officio members of every committee. Other committees and working parties are set up as and when needed.

Governors with special responsibilities:

Safeguarding and Looked-after Children:  Ruth Rudge

Executive Head Teacher's Performance Review:  Neil Penny, Emma Hammond, Chris Rayers (Independent Advisor)

SIAMS, SMSC,  Worship and RE : Carol Gunn

Attendance Records for 2017-2018
Attendance Records for 2016 - 2017